Banner module

About Us

Welcome

DUIESQ.com is brought to you by the Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis, Los Angeles DUI Attorneys. For more information about our office or services, please browse through our site.

Welcome to DUIESQ.com, your source for DUI laws and DUI lawyers in California .  Please feel free to browse through our site and contact us if we can assist you.

Criminal court process

In California, the state has established that a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration)
.08% or more is legally unfit for a person to operate a motor vehicle. Therefore, if any of the tests conclude that the drivers BAC is .08% or higher, they will be found to have driven under the influence.

Under the California Vehicle Code there are minimum and maximum sentences established for a conviction in the offense of driving under the influence. As well, the DMV (California Department of Motor Vehicles) has their own pre-set implementation of license revocation or suspension in their finding of a driving under the influence case.

The offenses are broken down into the last 10 years under the washout period. So if a DUI results within less than 10 years from the last DUI, it will be treated as a second offense.

First DUI Offense:

Jail Time: 48 hours to 6 months
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 3 month or 6 month
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Courts Discretion (Mandatory in Class 1, 2, A, B licenses)
Probation: Yes

Or without probation, the options are:

Jail Time: 96 hours to 6 months
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 3 month or 6 month
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Yes (6months)
Probation: No

Second DUI Offense:

There are several options for second DUI Offense in California:

Jail Time: 10 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 2 years
Probation: Yes

Or:

Jail Time: 96 hours to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30 month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Possible Restricted license
Probation: Yes

And without probation:

Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 2 years
Probation: No

Third Offense:

Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30 month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 3 years
Probation: Yes

No Probation:

Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 3 years
Probation: None

Fourth Offense or More:

Jail Time: 180 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30 month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 4 years
Probation: Yes

Without Probation:

Jail Time: 180 days to 1 year in County Jail or 16 months to 3 years in state prison
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 4 years
Probation: None

These are penalties imposed by the criminal courts in California. The actual penalties or judgment will vary on case by case basis. For more information on the penalties imposed by the DMV on your license, please