|DUIESQ.com is brought to you by the Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis, Los Angeles DUI Attorneys. For more information about our office or services, please browse through our site.||
Welcome to DUIESQ.com, your source for DUI laws and DUI lawyers in California . Please feel free to browse through our site and contact us if we can assist you.
Criminal dui penalties
The California Department of Motor Vehicles has there own system for penalizing those that are caught for driving under the influence. The California DMV, is the State's governing authority on the license to drive. As a result, the DMV hs the right to grant the privilege to drive as well as take it away if a driver seems to be unfit or a threat to other motorists and property.
The DMV conducts their own hearing in determing whether a person should receive a restriction or suspension on their driving license as a result of an arrest for driving under the influence. The DMV conducts their own hearing which is based on evidence attained by the arresting officer, usually the same evidence that would be used in the criminal matter. However, a DMV Hearing Officer could potentially could come to a different conclusion than the criminal court.
The standard DUI penalty for a drunk driving conviction may fall in the existing range:
For DMV Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
BAC .08% or greater Refusal
First Offense: 4 month suspension 1 year suspension
Second Offense: 1 year suspension 2 year suspension
Third Offense: 3 year suspension 3 year suspension
Fourth Offense: 4 year suspension` 4 year suspension