The DMV conducts their own hearing
The DMV conducts their own hearing in determining whether a person should receive a restriction or suspension on their driving license as a result of an arrest for driving under the influence.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles has there own system for penalizing those that are caught for driving under the influence.
The California DMV is the State’s governing authority on the license to drive.
As a result, the DMV has the right to grant the privilege to drive as well as take it away if a driver seems to be unfit or a threat to other motorists and property.
The DMV conducts their own hearing which is based on evidence attained by the arresting officer, usually the same evidence that would be used in the criminal matter.
However, a DMV Hearing Officer could potentially come to a different conclusion than the criminal court.
The standard DUI penalty for a drunk driving conviction may fall in the existing range:
For DMV Penalties for Driving Under the Influence BAC .08% or greater Refusal
- First Offense: 4-month suspension 1-year suspension
- Second Offense: 1-year suspension 2-year suspension
- Third Offense: 3-year suspension 3-year suspension
- Fourth Offense: 4-year suspension` 4-year suspension
In order to be properly advised and guided on the steps towards facing this kind of legal problem, then call the DUI Attorneys of the Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis for a free consultation today.