TOUCH BELOW FOR A FREE CASE REVIEW 24/7

Free Consultations (213) 687-4412

Process of DUI Offense

Process of DUI Offense

In California, the state has established that a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration)
.08% or more is legally unfit for a person to operate a motor vehicle. Therefore, if any of the tests conclude that the driver’s BAC is .08% or higher, they will be found to have driven under the influence.

Process of DUI Offense

Under the California Vehicle Code, there are the minimum and maximum sentences established for a conviction in the offense of driving under the influence. As well, the DMV (California Department of Motor Vehicles) has its own pre-set implementation of license revocation or suspension in their finding of driving under the influence case.

The offenses are broken down into the last 10 years under the washout period. So if a DUI results within less than 10 years from the last DUI, it will be treated as a second offense.

First DUI Offense:

Jail Time: 48 hours to 6 months
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 3 months or 6 month
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Courts Discretion (Mandatory in Class 1, 2, A, B licenses)
Probation: Yes

Or without probation, the options are:

Jail Time: 96 hours to 6 months
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 3 months or 6 month
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Yes (6months)
Probation: No

Second DUI Offense:

There are several options for second DUI Offense in California:

Jail Time: 10 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 2 years
Probation: Yes

Or:

Jail Time: 96 hours to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30-month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: Possible Restricted license
Probation: Yes

And without probation:

Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 2 years
Probation: No

Third Offense:

Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30-month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 3 years
Probation: Yes

No Probation:

Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 3 years
Probation: None

Fourth Offense or More:

Jail Time: 180 days to 1 year
Drug and Alcohol Programs: 18 or 30-month program
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 4 years
Probation: Yes

Without Probation:

Jail Time: 180 days to 1 year in County Jail or 16 months to 3 years in state prison
Drug and Alcohol Programs: None
Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
License Suspended by Court: 4 years
Probation: None

 

In order to be properly advised and guided on the steps towards facing this Process of DUI Offense, then call the DUI Attorneys of the Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis for a free consultation today.

 


For more information about our services and the options in your case, please call our office and schedule a free consultation.
Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis 205 South Broadway, Suite 1000 Los Angeles, CA 90012 (213) 687-4412 | www.Lluislaw.com